Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation LinksAbout Brunei Darussalam

Official name

Negara Brunei Darussalam (in Malay – ‘Negara Brunei’ means ‘the state of Brunei’, and ‘Darussalam’ means ‘abode of peace’).
Brunei Darussalam (in English)


Bandar Seri Begawan


It is strategically located on the north-west coast of the island of Borneo. Brunei Darussalam is approximately two to three hours flying distance from most ASEAN countries.

Land area

Brunei Darussalam has a total land area of 5,765 square kilometres with over 161 kilometres of coastline along the South China Sea. The western part of Brunei Darussalam consists of Brunei Muara, Tutong and Belait districts, while the eastern part is the Temburong District.


Brunei Darussalam’s population was 393,372 (2011).


Brunei Darussalam has seven ethnics comprising of Malay, Kedayan, Belait, Tutong, Bisaya, Murut, Dusun. Majority of the population are Malays with an estimated 258,465 people (2011); followed by Chinese with 40,534 people; and 94,373 people comprising of other minor groups.


Bahasa Melayu (Malay language) is the official language but English is also widely spoken. Various Chinese and Indian dialects are used by the respective communities.

The official religion is Islam. However, other religions may be practised in peace and harmony by the persons professing them as stated in the Constitution of Brunei Darussalam.


His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu’izzaddin Waddaulah, The Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam is the Head of State and Head of Government of Brunei Darussalam. His Majesty who is the 29th Sultan of Brunei is the Prime Minister, Minister of Defence and Minister of Finance. His Majesty is assisted by five constitutional bodies namely the Council of Succession, the Council of Ministers, the Privy Council, the Religious Council and the Legislative Council.

Brunei Darussalam was a British protectorate state from 1888 to 1983 and achieved its full sovereignty on January 1, 1984. Brunei Darussalam is governed on the basis of the Constitution of Brunei Darussalam established in 1959.

Brunei Darussalam is a member of several regional and international organisations such as Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN), The United Nations (UN), Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), The Commonwealth, International Monetary Fund (IMF), Organisation of the Islamic Conference (OIC), World Trade Organisation (WTO), Non-Aligned Movement (NAM) and so on.


Brunei Darussalam has a small but wealthy economy comprising of a mixture of foreign and domestic entrepreneurships. It is largely supported by exports of crude oil and natural gas with revenues from the petroleum sector accounting for nearly over half of her Gross Domestic Product (GDP).


The monetary unit of the country is Brunei Dollar and written as BND. It is pegged to the value of the Singapore Dollar and both currencies can be used in Brunei Darussalam and Republic of Singapore.


Brunei Darussalam has a tropical equatorial climate with high rainfall and warm temperatures all year round.

Time zone

Brunei Darussalam is eight hours ahead of the Greenwich Mean Time (GMT+8).